If Only It Were True

You certainly do have a world. We all do. Love isn’t enough for two people to make a success of sharing a life – they have to be compatible, they have to meet each other at the right moment. And that isn’t really the case with you and me.”

“Have I told you lately that I love you?” he asked timidly.

“You’ve given me proof. That’s much better.” Lauren didn’t believe it could be just chance. Why did they get along this way – why did she feel as though he knew everything about her? She said, suddenly, “Why do you give me so much, when I can give you so little?”

“Because all of a sudden there you were. You exist. And just one moment with you is the whole world to me. Yesterday is gone, tomorrow doesn’t yet exist. It’s today, it’s the present, that counts. So I have only one option – to do everything I can to stop you from dying, and to keep you with me.”

But that was the problem, Lauren said. She was frightened of the unknown, of what might lie ahead.

“Tomorrow will be whatever we want it to be,” he said, to reassure her. “Tomorrow is a mystery for everyone. It should make us curious and happy, not afraid.” He took her head in his hands, kissed her eyelids, and pressed her to him. The night was dark around them.

– If Only It Were True

Leave a Reply

