Someone To Watch Over Me

what i would give
to be in your arms right now,
be engulfed in your familiar embrace
breathe in your familiar scent
have your warmth comfort me
and your touch soothe my pain
see you lying beside me, asleep
with the stars above us, our only witness
listen to your heartbeat blending with mine
feel your gentle kiss on my forehead
and let the world fade away

some time during the night, i thought i felt someone smooth the covers over me and brush the hair off my feverish face. i wanted it to be you, needed it to be you, and so i let myself believe it has been – just for a while.

Leave a Reply

