Band-Aid Covers the Bullet Hole

It is true, what they say, about how long a person can take to recover from losing someone the wrong way (is there ever a right way anyway?).

It’s been a year, friend. How have you been? I cannot help but think of you more often these days. My heart still hurts, when I think about the things that went on last year. I remember how she cut short her trip and flew back just in time to send you off. I remember how I couldn’t utter a single word for hours after receiving the news. I remember all the tears, the trauma, the fear, the pain from the people around who love you. I remember the rain that went on every morning after, and the sun that burned when we finally saw you off. I remember, I remember, and I remember you.

Friend, I miss you every day.

Leave a Reply

